« Blog

Gelinaz! Cutting edge dinner in Ghent 2013

This weekend in Ghent we attended the Gelinaz! diner hosted by three cutting edge chefs from Belgium. Kobe Desramaults, Jason Blanckaert and Olly Ceulenaere.

Gelinaz! is an idea from famous Italian three star Michelin chef Fulvio Pierangelini of Gambero Rosso, together with Andrea Petrini from the San Pellegrino top 100 best restaurants of the world list. The idea, of witch the first issue was in 2005,  is to bring together a group of international cutting edge and famous chefs and cook a dinner together inspired by one dish. We were lucky to get some seats and enjoy the evening.

The Gelinaz! group, this time consisting of 25(!) chefs, payed hommage to Belgian chef Philippe Caudelier who was famous in the 19th century for first his restaurants and later his cook books. You could see him as the Escoffier of Belgium.

The chefs chose one dish from Caudelier a Chaud-Froid consisting of chicken, pork and sheep jelly, peas and beets. “The same dish will then be covered, reproduced, reprocessed, (re)mixed and morphed, one by one by all the chefs participating to the event,” according to the website.

On our facebook (verkerk Wijnimport) Ios album you also find most of the descriptions of the dishes. Here are some more pics. Enjoy!

The Gelinaz Wines!:

Cantina della volta
Anjou blanc Mosse 2011
Cuvée du bu, la Sorga, Languedoc 
Tai rosso, 2010, Daniele portinari, veneto
Herdeleau, 2010, DOM. Maison brûlée
Premier rendez vous, 2011, l&b Jousset, montlouis
Hanami, 2012, Seb Bobinet, saumur champigny
DOM du clos de l’élu, 2011
Lubigo, 2010, Massimiliano croci, monterosso
Anjou rouge René Mosse, 2011
Auratus, 2012, van quinta do feital, quinta do dorado
Tokaji furmint sajgo 2008 2 ans sous voile

The Gelinaz Recipies!

The Gelinaz! Chefs:

Roger Souvereyns (stevoort)

Inaki Alzpitarte (Le Chateaubriand, Paris)

Anatoly Komm (Varvary, Moscow)

Agata Felluga (Le Chateaubriand, Paris)

Petter Nilsson (La Gazzetta, Paris)

Blaine Wetzel (Willows inn, Lummi Island)

Virgilio Martinez (CentraL, Lima)

Massimo Bottura (La Francescana, Modena)

Bertrand Grebaut (Septime, Paris)

Josean Alija (Nerua, Bilbao)

Kasper Kurdahl (Brussels)

René Redzepi (Noma, Copenhagen)

Davide Scabin (CombaL.zero, Rivoli)

Daniel Patterson (COI, San Francisco)

Eneko Atxa (Azurmendi, Bilbao)

Mauro Colagreco (Le Mirazur, Menton)

Ben Shewry (Attica, Melbourne)

Mikael Jonsson (Hedone, London)

Danny Bowien (Mission Chinese Food, New York)

Rodolfo Guzman (Borago, Santiago)

Fulvio Pierangelini (San Vincenzo)

Magnus Nilsson (Faviken, Jarpen)

Jason Blanckaert (Jef, Ghent)

Olly Ceulenaere (Volta, Ghent)

Kobe Desramaults (In de Wulf, Dranouter)